National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Glenn Research Center


Presentations from the AIAA-AVIATION 2017 Special Session:
CFD-15. Capabilities and Challenges in CFD I: Academia, Government, and Industry Perspectives
Chaired by: H.T. HUYNH, NASA Glenn Research Center and E. JOHNSEN, University of Michigan

Presentations from the AIAA-AVIATION 2017 Special Session:
CFD-19. Towards Industrial LES and DNS for Aeronautics
Chaired by: H.T. HUYNH, NASA Glenn Research Center and C. HIRSCH, Numeca, International S. A.

Presentations from the two AIAA-SciTech 2015 Invited Sessions:
Current Challenges for Computational Fluid Dynamics, Industry and Government Interest I and II
Chaired by: H.T. HUYNH, NASA Glenn Research Center and N. KROLL, DLR – German Aerospace Center

Workshop Details

You can download the final agenda for the workshop here.


  1. To provide an open and impartial forum for evaluating the status of high-order methods (order of accuracy > 2) in solving a wide range of flow problems.
  2. To assess the performance of high-order methods through comparison to production 2nd order CFD codes widely used in the aerospace industry with well defined metrics.
  3. To identify pacing items in high-order methods needing additional research and development in order to proliferate in the CFD community.
  4. To facilitate international collaboration and enhance mutual understanding among CFD researchers and managers in academia, government, and industries.

General Information

  1. The workshop is open to participants all over the world. Everybody is welcome.
  2. Several benchmark cases are included for the workshop. To be considered as speakers, participants should complete as least one sub-case.
  3. Open forums will be included in the workshop to discuss pacing items and further research areas in high-order methods.
  4. A number of fellowships will be provided by Army Research Office (ARO) and NASA to pay registration fees for graduate and undergraduate students to attend the workshop and present their work. E-mail if you would like to apply.

Important Dates

  • June 15, 2014 – Test cases defined with most geometries available. (New Date)
  • June 30, 2014 – E-mail for your intention to participate (for general planning purposes only).
  • October 15, 2014 – Abstract deadline (abstract template). Send an (incomplete) abstract if you believe data will be ready on November 15, 2014.
  • November 1, 2014 – Acceptance e-mail sent out.
  • November 15, 2014 November 30, 2014 – Submit both results and (revised) abstract (pdf) for each problem to the problem lead(s) email address(es) and
  • January 3-4, 2015 – Workshop

4Important Guidelines (Read this first!)

Venue and Accommodation

The workshop will take place January 3-4, 2015 just before the 53rd AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting at the Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center in Kissimmee, Florida (Orlando).

Test Cases

Several benchmark cases from the 1st and 2nd International Workshops on High-Order CFD Methods are included.
New problems are being added and will be available by April 30, 2014.

The number of test cases has been consolidated for the third workshop.
Therefore the numbers assigned to each test case will NOT necessarily match those of the previous workshops.

C1. Easy, 2D
C2. Intermediate, 2D & 3D
C3. Difficult, 2D & 3D

Organizing Committee

  • H.T. Huynh (Co-Chair, Local Organizer), NASA Glenn Research Center
  • Norbert Kroll(Co-Chair), DLR
  • Z.J. Wang (Chair-Emeritus), University of Kansas
  • Remi Abgrall, University of Zurich
  • Francesco Bassi, University of Bergamo
  • Doru Caraeni, CD-adapco
  • Mark H. Carpenter, NASA Langley Research Center
  • Corentin Carton de Wiart, CENAERO
  • Marco Ceze, University of Michigan
  • Vincent Couaillier, ONERA
  • David Darmofal, MIT
  • Herman Deconinck, VKI
  • Charbel Farhad, Stanford University
  • Chris Fidkowski, University of Michigan
  • Carl Ollivier-Gooch, University of British Columbia
  • Ralf Hartmann, DLR
  • Koen Hillewaert, CENAERO
  • Tobias Leicht, DLR
  • Georg May, RWTH Aachen University
  • Claus-Dieter Munz, University of Stuttgart
  • Jan Nordstrom, Linköping University
  • Per-Olof Persson, UC Berkeley
  • Miguel Visbal, AFRL