"Re-living The Wright Way"

Nasa Logo
Skip top

Home

Invention Process

Researched Flight

Tested Theories

Flight Control

Test Pilot Skills

Propulsion System

First Flight

Flight Development

Pushing Envelope

Wilbur Wright Bio

Orville Wright Bio


Lesson Plans

Simulations

Webcast/Video

Activities

CD-ROMs


Gliders

1900 - Aircraft

1901 - Aircraft

1902 - Aircraft

Powered Aircraft

1903 - Wright Flyer

1904 - Aircraft

1905 - Aircraft

Flight Control

Wing Warping

1901 - Wind Tunnel

What's New

New StuffView and download Get It Wright Podcasts featuring "Orville and Wilbur Wright". In a series of videos, the brothers discuss the basic science and math that lead to the invention of the modern airplane. Join the brothers in their workshop at Dayton, Ohio, to have some fun and learn the basics.

  


Webcast Announcements

Control Surfaces Videoconference and Internet Broadcast

Tuesday, November 26, 2002

Live webcasts at 10:00am ET and 2:00pm ET

Grade Level: 6-8

The Wright Brothers' first flight at Kitty Hawk was the culmination of years of hard work, experimentation, and research. The largest hurdle the brothers had to face was not getting off the ground, but controlling the airplane once it was airborne. A system modeled after the flight of birds called wing warping was developed. The Wrights' early innovations helped lead to the development of the modern control systems of today using rudders, ailerons, and elevators. This webcast will examine the principles of aerodynamics, and how they can be harnessed to control an airplane in flight. The Wright Brothers' solutions to flight control will be compared and contrasted with modern day control surfaces. This one-hour, fully-interactive webcast will pair NASA aeronautical engineers with students from across the country. It will feature Wilbur Wright's explanations of flight control, and video demonstrations with remote control aircraft and the Air Force Thunderbirds.

For additional information and broadcast locations go to: http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/K-12/ControlSurfaces

AeroTeam On-Line Centennial of Flight Events
http://quest.arc.nasa.gov/projects/aero/centennial/
Visit this link to learn more about and participate in the webcasts, chats, and forums in the calendar below.

 

 

Research Methods: The Wright Brothers and NASA today: October Events

 

Date

Time

Activity Type

Grade Level

Description

Tuesday, 10/16/01

10:00-11:00 PDT
12:00-1:00 CDT
1:00-2:00 EDT

Chat

K-12

Nick Engler will compare and contrast the time cost and safety of flight testing used by the Wright Brothers versus current methods..

10/18/01

12:00-1:00 PM PDT
2:00-3:00 CDT
3:00-4:00 EDT

Chat

K-12

Chat with the Orville and Wilbur Wright about the process they used to design airplanes. Join

10/25/01

11:00-12:00 PDT
1:00-2:00 CDT
2:00-3:00 EDT

 

Webcast

K-12

A webcast from the Vertical Motion Simulator, at NASA Ames Research Center where Astronaut pilot Kenneth Ham will test the maneuverability of 2nd Generation Reusable Launch Vehicles.

11/01

10:00-11:00 PST
12:00-1:00 CST
1:00-2:00 EST

Chat

K-12

Chat with Fanny Zuniga, researcher on 2nd Generation simulations.

 

 

Celebrating Flight: December Events

 

Date

Time

Activity Type

Grade Level

Description

Monday, 12/03/01 -Monday, 12/10/01

available through out the week

Forum

K-12

What would life be like with out airplanes? Ask questions of our expert Donald Mendoza.

Tuesday,
12/04/01

10:00-11:00 PST
12:00-1:00 CST
1:00-2:00 EST

Webcast

K-12

A description of the evolution of the airplane design techniques used by NASA as described by Jack Boyd.

12/01

8:00-9:00 AM PST
10:00-11:00 AM CST
11:00 AM -12:00 PM EST

Webcast

3-5

Why? Files The Case of the"Wright Invention" More Information

Monday, 12/05/01

12:00-1:00 PM PST
2:00-3:00 PM CST
3:00-4:00 PM EST

Chat

K-12

Chat with the Orville and Wilbur Wright about the process they used to design airplanes.

Thursday,12/06/01

10:00-11:00 AM PST
12:00-1:00 PM CST
1:00-2:00 PM CST

Webcast

K-12

View the NASA Glenn Research Center's Kite Webcast. Chat with an Tom Benson.

Wednesday,
12/12/01

10:00-11:00 PST
12:00-1:00 CST
1:00-2:00 EST

Webcast

all

Hear Lt. Col. Alexander Jefferson USAF (Ret.) a Tuskegee Airman discuss his experience and role in the history of flight. Join

Thursday,
12/13/01

10:00-11:00 PST
12:00-1:00 CST
1:00-2:00 EST

TBD

K-12

Debbie Gallaway will speak about the Centennial of Flight Commission and her personal experience flying the Wright brothers' 1901 glider. Join



Kite Broadcast Archive

On September 27, 2001, NASA Glenn conducted a webcast to kick-off our three-year celebration of the 00th anniversary of flight. The broadcast was part of the "Re-Living the Wright Way" program, an educational event series revolving around the Wright Brothers Process of Invention and Centennial of Flight Celebration that will last through 2003. Objectives include increasing students' interest in mathematics, science, technology and engineering disciplines and inspiring participants by allowing all to experience the Wright Brothers' invention process through activities and interaction with NASA personnel, technology and resources.

To view the broadcast, click here.


New StuffVisit the new Gallery of Photos. Currently, the gallery has photos of the Glenn Research Center's replica of the Wright 1900 aircraft. This replica is a joint effort of Orono Middle School of Orono, Maine and NASA Glenn. The gallery shows construction of the aircraft and photos from the July 8, 2001 meeting of the Ohio Society for the Elevation of Kites at which the aircraft was displayed.

  


 

 

Responsible Official
Tom Benson

Maintained by
Dave Mazza

Comments and Suggestions Carol Galica

Back to Wright Homepage